WEATHER »

Film

Review: The Purge: Anarchy

This sequel gets under your skin, in spite of its ridiculous premise. Read story.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Review: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Director Matt Reeves’s Planet of the Apes sequel is more poetic and carefully structured than its predecessor. Read story.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Review: Third Person

Paul (Crash, Million Dollar Baby) writes and directs this problematic tale of three interconnected couples. Read story.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Roger Durling’s Permanent Wave

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival is hosting a summer mini-fest full of French cinema. Read story.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Review: Begin Again

The Once writer/director gives us a more-polished version of his breakaway musical hit. Read story.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Review: Tammy

Melissa McCarthy returns to the big screen in this moneymaking romp, cowritten and directed by her husband Ben Falcone. Read story.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Sunken Garden Movies Are Back

UCSB Arts & Lectures is bringing some of cinema’s greatest silents to the Santa Barbara Courthouse. Read story.

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Review: Transformers: Age of Extinction

This new installment nicely highlights everything wrong with Michael Bay’s moviemaking. Read story.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Review: Think Like a Man Too

Think Like a Man Too is a speed demon of a rom-com that refuses to leave its audience bored for a millisecond. Read story.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Review: Jersey Boys

Corny as it may be, this is one of the better examples of the often tawdry music biopic. Read story.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Will Eubank’s The Signal Rethinks the Summer Blockbuster

The Santa Ynez High School alum cowrites and directs this sci-fi thriller, starring Laurence Fishburne. Read story.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Review: The Signal

Santa Ynez filmmaker William Eubank cowrites and directs this stunning sci-fi thriller about space, love, and human vulnerability. Read story.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Review: Chinese Puzzle

Writer/director Cédric Klapisch’s final installment in his trilogy is a fun-loving romp with an identity crisis. Read story.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Review: Edge of Tomorrow

This film's script twists around like its aliens, and it’s all visually arresting. Read story.

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Review: Words and Pictures

Clive Owen and Juliette Binoche seem sexier debating aesthetic issues in front of students than when making out in a waterfront art studio. Read story.

Wednesday, June 11, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: