WEATHER »

Voices

Farmers Fear Oil and Water Do Mix

Concern over "extreme" oil extraction techniques and water use and contamination fuel new ballot measure. Read story.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

A Fair American Flat Tax

The United States and the states must reform their tax structures to make it more equitable for everyone. Read story.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Petty or Prejudice?

The sex-symbol status of Game of Thrones star Peter Dinklage raises questions on nomenclature. Read story.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Religion + Politics = Manipulation

Religion in 21st-century America is less a belief system to bring meaning as it is a voting block that forgoes science and common sense. Read story.

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Sheriff's Office Provoked Deltopia Riot

Santa Barbara should lighten up and let the students have their Floatopia back. Read story.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

A Post-Deltopia Vision

How can we harness the goodness inherent in the Isla Vista lifestyle and expel the gross excess? Read story.

Friday, April 11, 2014

The Death of Isla Vista?

How the Deltopia disaster threatens a once-proud partying culture. Read story.

Monday, April 7, 2014

An Open Internet

The possibility exists for Internet service providers to subtly block information by slowing download or streaming speeds. Read story.

Monday, April 7, 2014

Sorry About Your Divorce

When a marriage ends in divorce, considering the emotional loss a personal defeat doesn't help, nor does societal shaming. Read story.

Friday, April 4, 2014

The Climate's a-Gonna Change

After British Columbia implemented a revenue-neutral carbon tax, its use of petroleum fuels dropped 15.1 percent. Read story.

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Employee Background Checks

To protect your company, you need to perform full due diligence before hiring your next employee. Read story.

Monday, March 31, 2014

A Voltaire Moment for Liberals

Speech is only free when all, even antiabortion activists, may speak with freedom. Read story.

Friday, March 28, 2014

The Water Crisis Is a Policy Crisis

To assure a secure water future, we must change the way it is distributed across the state. Read story.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Fat Tuesday Revisited

Diets that outlaw certain foods create their own Mardi Gras. Read story.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Why I Support the Civil Gang Injunction

People opposing the civil injunction claim it costs too much. How short-sighted to hang the future of our young people on the red herring of money. Read story.

Thursday, March 20, 2014