WEATHER »

Voices

Immigration Uncertainties

What are possible solutions in order to have immigration be a humane and legal process? Read story.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Fracking Ban Critical for Climate

High-intensity oil production could triple county greenhouse gas emissions. Read story.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

The Security State and the Gang Injunction

What do Deltopia, the Bundy ranch, and the gang injunction have in common? Read story.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Traditional Policing Needed, Not Gang Injunction

Public interest has been renewed in Santa Barbara relating to the gang injunction. Read story.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Qualities of a Sheriff

Who is qualified to be Sheriff? Read story.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

West Papua's Riches Push Independence Further Away

With the discovery of gold, Indonesia's clutch on West Papua tightens. Read story.

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Fukushima Remains an Intractable Disaster

Why argue that everything is fine when it is as far from fine as we’ve ever known? Read story.

Friday, April 18, 2014

Dance as a Path to Excellence

The arts have a unique ability to inspire children toward excellence. Read story.

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Farmers Fear Oil and Water Do Mix

Concern over "extreme" oil extraction techniques and water use and contamination fuel new ballot measure. Read story.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

A Fair American Flat Tax

The United States and the states must reform their tax structures to make it more equitable for everyone. Read story.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Petty or Prejudice?

The sex-symbol status of Game of Thrones star Peter Dinklage raises questions on nomenclature. Read story.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Religion + Politics = Manipulation

Religion in 21st-century America is less a belief system to bring meaning as it is a voting block that forgoes science and common sense. Read story.

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Sheriff's Office Provoked Deltopia Riot

Santa Barbara should lighten up and let the students have their Floatopia back. Read story.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

A Post-Deltopia Vision

How can we harness the goodness inherent in the Isla Vista lifestyle and expel the gross excess? Read story.

Friday, April 11, 2014

The Death of Isla Vista?

How the Deltopia disaster threatens a once-proud partying culture. Read story.

Monday, April 7, 2014